Newbie here.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here.

My baby had her ears cropped on Sunday. When I brought her home (10 hours later) she seemed perfectly fine except the usual shaking and scratching...which I corrected.
    Okay, Monday morning, I removed the sock. The ears are taped to a styrofoam cup. The right ear is completely exposed along the crop. The left ear was exposed from the base and then it seemed to stop towards the tip. I noticed later on today the left ear also seemed a bit more swollen. The right side seemed to feel a bit more relaxed and thin compared to the left side.

Does this have something to do with the taping?

I peeled the tape on the left side upwards to expose the rest of the sutures going towards the tip of the ear. It just didn't make sense to me that one ear was exposed all the way to the tip and this one wasn't. When I got closer to the tip, it looks as though one side of the ear stuck on the tape and maybe ripped a bit? Or perforated from the other side?

I'm not sure if the tape is on too tight. I'm meeting with my breeder Wednesday and was instructed not to do anything, unless it gets worse.

There is also some crusty spots near the base, I think this is just dried blood though, there's a faint smell in both the ears so I'm guessing it's the metallic blood smell...

I put some neosporin on it tonight after I opened that bandage up a bit on the left ear...now that I think about it, I didn't even clean the ears before applying this,,.smh. I wasn't instructed to do any type of cleaning as well. Just want something or a technique so to speak to clean out the base and the little crusties that I believe are causing that bloody smell...