No announcement yet.

First taping job..any recommendations??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First taping job..any recommendations??

Please feel free to pick it apart. Do you see any areas that should be corrected or have any recommendations??
    Attached Files

This is how we tape ears
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9PnfGYJVL8&list=UUQhYXMRdreF4gMgRB7968ag& index=9&feature=plcp"]Taping Einstein's ears - YouTube[/ame]

I don't think you did a bad job, I just like to see the edges of the ears open to the air.
    sigpic

Comment

I still don't know which method I prefer... full tapes of partial tapes.

For the method you have chosen, looks like you've done a pretty decent job.

Comment

Thank you for the responses!! = )

I'm new to the process and I'm sure there are a bunch of different ways. I'd love to hear everyone's way. For Brinks, my vet left them open for one week after the surgery until the stitches were removed. Then she fully taped them. I was not able to see my vet tape, so I watched the Summit View YouTube videos and followed their method.

I have never seen the open taping. What is the advantage??

Comment

I prefer the zip tie, less tape method. Much easier on the pup and does the job.

Difference with my method and the video: I use zonas porous tape around the base. It is a softer more flexible tape. I also use zonas porous tape for the zip time. I do use the transpore tape up and over the ears.
          Zonas Porous tape is available in medical supply stores or ordered from Walgreens.

I leave this taping on for a week unless it starts to fall off. I always use an adhesive remover to remove the tape. It is easier on the pup. Doesn't pull off the hair. If the tape is on for a week, it will come off a lot easier than if taken off after only a few days. Then leave the tape off for the day, clean ears and retape. As the ears begin to stand, you can increase the time the ears are left untaped.