Taping Check

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Taping Check

Can anyone verify this taping job looks okay? It's my first try. I thought I've read the bottom of the post should rest on the little bump on the inside of the ear, and that's where I have it as you can see in the picture. Intuitively, it should seem like the post should go down into the bell though so that it can help the bell get its shape. I don't want any pockets forming...
    Anyway, her ears can perk up on their own, the bridge will go slack, and when she relaxes, the bridge will tighten and hold her ears from going past 10 and 2.

The method I'm using is half foam backer rod (instead of a foam hair curler) with a zip tie secured to the side of the foam and extending to the tip.

Thanks.

I fixed the bridge since this picture so the tape connects at the at the bottom center of each ear - this bridge was connected too far to the back of her right ear.

I think it is a good job. I agree with you about putting the post right into the bell - that is what I did. I was also really anal about the fold on the back of the ear. I wanted a really nice point at the top with no curve in the ear, and that is what I got. Everyone has their own preferences, though. Be sure that when you put the rod into the bell that you pull up on the tip and tape it in place. This will prevent any pockets from forming.

Why are you using the zip tie? If you just use the whole backer rod instead of cutting it in half, the zip tie is unnecessary.

Be sure to use Gold Bond powder on the ear to prevent moisture and chafing.
    Katie & Scarlett
    sigpic

Comment