Tums and Cottage cheese???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tums and Cottage cheese???

I went to our local pet store today to get some treats and toys for Brusco. A lady came to the aile I was at, and told me she breeds and show great danes, and ask me to where I got my baby from. She then uttered, "oh, you got his ears cropped, you know to make them stand quickly, give them tums ans cottage cheese for calcium"...
    How effective is this? Should I even cconsider this? My vet never suggested this... Any of you give this to your newly cropped puppies?
    [PHP]sigpic

Grace, mom to Ava and Vic (skinned children, 2 and 3 years old) Puff (the Maltese, 4 years old) Lucy (the Dachshund, 6 years old) Pumpkin (the Cat, 10 years old) Savier (the Doberman, 3 years old) Brusco (the Great Dane, 3 mos old)
    "We have a full house, and a lot of love to give"

I'm no expert by any means but I would stay away from Tums. Danes are very susceptible to Calcium (which tums is FULL of) because it can lead to bone growth issues in this breed. There has been a lot of research that shows specifically that elevated Calcium and Phosphorus levels, rather than higher protein content in some cases, can cause some of the scarier bone/joint issues in Danes. As for the cottage cheese...well...its cheese! Mine all love cottage cheese, though it is a good source of fat so you'll have to keep an eye on their waistline since u want a slim dane pup. As far as helping the ears though...no idea on that one. HTH!

Comment

Thank you!
      [PHP]sigpic

Grace, mom to Ava and Vic (skinned children, 2 and 3 years old) Puff (the Maltese, 4 years old) Lucy (the Dachshund, 6 years old) Pumpkin (the Cat, 10 years old) Savier (the Doberman, 3 years old) Brusco (the Great Dane, 3 mos old)
      "We have a full house, and a lot of love to give"

Comment