Need help!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help!

I took the tape off Izabell's ears tonight, breeder told me to change it every 2 wks, so tomorrow night we are to retape them. I have a couple questions, first Izabell hates to have her ears touched, any suggestions on ways to calm her. She flips out and it takes everything I have to hold onto her. Second, when we took the tape off there were sores all over the back of her ears. Some started bleeding, I tried to clean them up but she wouldn't hold still, so not sure how good of a job I did at that. Should I retape them tomorrow night or leave them alone for a few days? I don't know what to do, I don't think they will heal if I keep taping them, but the breeder said to only leave them untaped if there was a bad odor. I'm new at this so any help is appreciated!
    sigpic

I'm going to get you!!

are you very far from your breeder? it might be a good idea to take her back and have her show you what you need to be doing. Also, do not let her "freak out" when you are touching her ears. Make her sit there!

When Karma tried to "freak out" I sat on the floor with her on a leash and held her to me and kept touching her ears. She squirmed and wiggled and cried like I was stabbing her with a butter knife, but I knew dang well that the gentle touches I was doing was not hurting her. eventually she saw that I was not hurting her and she was throwing a tantrum for nothing. IF you don't win these little battles with her now at this age and size, how you will gain her respect when she can knock you down if she dosn't want to do something...

Clean the ears well, put some gold bond anti itch powder on them, and put them back up. end of story. good luck.

Comment