Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 10 weeks old

Hello,
    I'm new here and I have a few questions about my new Great Dane. I got him a little shy of 8 weeks old. I started training right away. I'm only have one slight problem with him right now. He seems to get really protective of me when my other dog (dachshund mix, I've had her for 2 years) approaches me or when I show her affection. My dane puppy is a male and my dachshund is a female. The weird thing is I don't baby my puppy and keep him by me all the time so I'm not sure why he behaves like this sometimes.When he does get aggressive I correct him and use positive reinforcement. Also this only seems to happen when I'm around. They play fine together outside when I'm not there. I don't want him to be an aggressive dog and I'm not sure if this is just something they go through as a puppy. Please help.
    sigpic

I think one of our more experienced members will have more to offer in the way of training advice, so I will limit myself to suggesting enrolling in a puppy class ASAP. Even if you forget about the training aspect of a puppy class there are limitless benefits in the way of socialization.

I'm also curious about your pup's background because, depending on the parents, your pup may be predisposed to undesirable behaviors. Some breeders do not take temperament into consideration as much as they should when breeding. If you'd care to share any info you have on the pup's genetic history and/or lines that may help to give some insight.

ETA: Welcome!! There's a ton of info on this sight as well as knowledgeable and experienced owners who are fantastic resources! You're in the right place for sure!
    Misty, Leonidas (Dane), and Valor (Pomeranian Mix)
    Current 52 Photo Project:http://flic.kr/s/aHsjDu8ALZ

Comment

Can you describe how he is being protective? What is his behavior and actions.

Comment