Would love to show, BUT.........

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would love to show, BUT.........

I live in Washington state. I have looked and it doesn't look like there are ever any big shows in my area. So my question would be If I really want to show to get my dog to Ch. how many shows would I have to travel to a year. Would it be like one or two weekends a year and maybe there might be a few smaller shows that are close enough for me to just make a day trip of. just thought I would see what all you pros think.
    thanks
    sigpic

Claire 16 weeks

I am no pro as I am just a beginner handler (and not with my dane) but there are a LOT of factors that come into play so as far as I know there is no set time. You can take your dog out, do well against a lot of competition and get a championship very quickly. It may even take a few years to get out there and be able to compete well enough to make enough points to earn a championship title. And it isn't just a matter of earning enough points, you have to earn (I believe) a minimum of 2 majors. Not all show dogs become champions.

I started handling classes with my Neo last september when she was 21 months old. I had her in a couple shows between Halloween and March and we didn't start out good at all. We learned alot as we went along. The problem with showing her is that there is no competition so we can't earn points. I am now trying with my Havanese pup. He will be 6 months at the end of August so we are aiming for his first show in September. We will see how it goes. At least I know with the Havanese there is competition which seems to be the case with the danes. The closest shows to me are about 2 hours away and those are only a handful.

Comment

Like mention before, it can vary. It also depends on the location's of the shows and how well your dog is put together, meaning; training, conformation and condition.