Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi All - Newbie Here

Hi All,
    Thanks for having me. I am a newbie GD Mom, with a 4 month old (tomorrow) baby black male. His name is Elijah. I'm not terribly religious, but he was born on All Saints Day, and after scouring saint's names (as I thought that would be appropriate), I found I liked Elijah very much.

I am also Mom to two cats - Colonel Mustard (10 yo orange male, Maine Coon/DLH mix) and Miles (10 ½ yo DSH male). We are still working through the new addition, but the boys are doing pretty well with it, and luckily haven't stopped loving me for bringing this "beast" into their home.

Life circumstances kept me from getting my Dane for too long, but I've wanted one for a little more than 20 years, so I'm very happy that I'm finally here.

Attached pic is Eli at 12 ½ weeks (approx). I will post ones from today as soon as my PhotoStream updates (my Mac is a little show right now). Eli is doing very well, and is a real sweetheart. My main concern right now is that I'm unable to have him outside for sustained periods because of the low temps, snow and ice. He's getting cabin fever, and I can't blame him. We play in the house, practice commands, try new foods and toys, but it's going to be like this for a little while. I would like some ideas for toys that are great for exercising the mind and the body for a little while. I work from my home, but I do have to work, so I need ideas for things that can engage Eli and satisfy him for periods of time (maybe 30-45 minutes). I tried Kong toys with PB, but he's not interested, although he loves PB (but it does a number on his GI system). He loves frozen green beans, and so we play with them and he eats them, but he needs me to toss them in order for him to engage.