Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eye color??

Hey everybody,

Does anyone know when a pup's eyes change??? My pup has greyish eyes and I'm assuming they are going to turn blue. He's 14 weeks now and I have no idea when they should change color, or even if they are. I'm just sort of curious, it's not really a major big deal. I think I would rather his eyes stay this color, it's pretty cool and kinda matches his coat (he's a somewhat mantle marked merle). Anyway, if anyone has any info I'd appreciate it. Thanks!!

RE: Eye color??

Gosh, I don't know the answer either. I was wondering about the same thing with my little girl too. Sylver is a blue mantle with grey eyes to match her coat....I wondered if her eyes were going to change to a different shade of grey or blue eventually too. Will be interesting to see answers regarding this.....

Comment

Since I have fawn/brindle and all their eyes are med dk to dk brown at birth, I have no experience in this area. I do know though, that by 6/7 months of age, the eye color of my 2 legged children is what they have ended up with.
      Carolyn
      Divine Acres Great Danes
      Carolyn
      Divine Acres Great Danes
      Divine Acres The Legend "Bruce" 5 1/2 months old..5th generation of DA Danes!
      sigpic

Comment

The eye color you see now is probably a transition phase. The eyes probably started out blue and will end up brown. My first merle had the brightest blue eyes when I brought him about (at about 7ish weeks) and they gradually turned to a beautiful caramel brown color.