Help please!!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help please!!!

Hi everyone! Question about my 7 month old raw fed guy....I just left him outside and noticed he was trying to poop but couldn't (he was also walking funny) and had something hanging out. I went out to him with a paper towel so I could wipe him and it was a piece of bone. I pulled it out and it was a short bone with 1 end chewed off-probably a drumstick. After I took it out he seemed fine, there is fresh poop in the yard, and he has good bowel sounds (I'm an ER nurse). Shouldn't he be breaking those bones and digesting better?? He does eat very fast it seems. Any help and advice greatly appreciated!!!

How long has he been raw fed? It takes a while for them to really be able to digest everything. I was advised to add some raw apple cider vinegar to their food and/or water to help with that. You could also try feeding frozen so he slows down and has to chew it a little more.
    sigpic
    Chaucey
    Asaah ~ xxx Asaah LaLa, CGC, registered therapy dog

Comment

We switched him to raw as soon as we got him at 9 1/2 wks old. Tonight my husband held the chicken so he would have to chew it and eat slower instead of swallowing everything whole! Seemed to work.....will try feeding frozen also so he has to chew and see how that works

Comment

Originally posted by christielee View Post
        We switched him to raw as soon as we got him at 9 1/2 wks old. Tonight my husband held the chicken so he would have to chew it and eat slower instead of swallowing everything whole! Seemed to work.....will try feeding frozen also so he has to chew and see how that works
        Apple cider vinegar should help with bone break down. I wouldn't get used to holding his food, Duke was a bone pooper too, but then we went through a phase he wouldn't eat unless we held it and that isn't cool for morning rushes to get to work, or exhausted evenings.